Black Ridge

We had a forecast for snow this weekend, which I quite like hiking in.  Unfortunately I sold both of our shelters recently and don’t yet have a replacement.  A 60″x60″ piece of silnylon with some corner tieouts and a bivy would have to do.

DSCF1089-Edit

The original goal was to try to find some arches above one of the nearby canyons, but I underestimated the amount of snow on the north-facing climb, or maybe just overestimated my current fitness.  15+ miles with a 1 pm start just wasn’t happening, which was fine (I don’t particularly care about arches anyway).

DSCF1099

Hard times…

DSCF1079

Great rim views…

DSCF1102

Late afternoon between canyons I decided to abort the arch mission and head back to the rim of Rattlesnake Canyon.  Lots of snowy looking clouds but still no snow…

DSCF1103-Edit

 

DSCF1097-Edit

Back to Rattlesnake.  Now’s the time to be here because the upper access road is closed.  Gotta love cherrystem roads in wilderness areas…

 

DSCF1095

I set up camp under a pinyon, started a little fire, and was generally enjoying myself until the snow finally came, but with lots of wind.  I waited it out a bit, fumbled with my silly tarp setup, and eventually decided to pack up and start hiking again.  I of course left my headlamp in the truck, so hiked by the light of my steripen. A few miles later I found a bunch of junipers against a wall and pitched the tarp low to block the blowing snow (like crawl in, 6″ above my face low).  It wouldn’t have been a good idea for more than a night, but worked fine.  It was snowing (without wind) when I woke up, but not much accumulation.  Morning…

 

DSCF1106

 

The hike home made up for any previous frustration…

DSCF1172

 

 

DSCF1165

DSCF1156

DSCF1153-Edit

DSCF1144

DSCF1118

DSCF1115-Edit

Leave a Reply

